Where my girls at?

Sometimes I wonder if I should be getting married in Los Angeles. All of my closest friends live there (and one in AZ) along with my family. It’s home. I think wedding planning with them would be so much more fun and practical. So I think I have been pretty much a Bridal Island because I am in DC. I learned the term ┬áBridal Island after reading this very touching post on A Practical Wedding. It really spoke to how I have been feeling lately. I been feeling like this is supposed to be friend/family affair but it isn’t. I am not sure if I will be able to squeeze in a trip to LA to have a bridal shower either. Actually I don’t understand bridal showers so nix that part. ┬áSo what I am saying is that I wish I could have just one or two girls nights leading up to it all.
I’m conflicted since I am not having a bridal party. I get the sense that the bridal party is supposed to do stuff for you. I’m not sure what stuff. I think the other issue is a class/culture issue. I read all these blogs about what you are supposed to do and how it’s supposed to work but I don’t see any of that. Not that I even want any of that. Whatever “that” is. Plus I guess the bridal party (if i had one) would know what to do. Whatever that is.
You see on my dad’s side of the family I am the baby. By the time I was five, everyone who would be married was already married. Then on my mother’s side again, those who would be married were already married by the time I arrived in this world. It’s just what it is. So there isn’t some long tradition of weddings where everyone automatically knows their assigned role. In all honesty those who have gotten married have gone to Vegas or the headed downtown. So I have attended very few weddings. Then most of my friends didn’t have wedding either. So I don’t know how this should work. 27 dresses? Nope I only had to do it once.
So I thank everyone for all of emails, phone calls, texts and gchats. It makes me feel closer and not so alone. I don’t know what I would do without technology.
One Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Cheryl
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 03:39:08

    I hate being out here while you are wedding planning!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

