Press Pause

This post will be 100% snark-free. Today was truly a great day. Since there was no formal engagement I didn’t make a formal announcement of my engagement. I told people we were getting married but some assumed that there would be a formal engagement to come. I have no idea why me telling people we were getting married wasn’t enough for people to realize I was getting married. I take this stuff oh so seriously but traditional I am not.

I posted a link to this blog on my gchat status and someone who is a new colleague inquired about it. She mentioned to me that her photography teacher does weddings. She sent me a link to his site and it was a person who I had emailed a couple of days earlier. She contacted him on my behalf and he got back to me right away. We set a meeting date and then I had to show my future husband the prices. Again, he didn’t quite understand the need to pay so much. Neither did I, but I had long since realized that I don’t understand the price of photography that doesn’t include the rights to your own personal photos. Still his prices seemed somewhat reasonable in comparison and we get our photos on a CD.

We went to his home and looked through his photo book. I was sold not on his wedding books but that he has Raphael Saddiq as as his client. I knew then he was the right one. I also started to understand bridal books. I was wondering why I needed to pay hundreds of dollars for a photo album but they are much more than that. His books are beautifully presented and will make great gifts for our parents. Then I was stunned to find out that we get much more in his packages than we could get else where. If you are looking for a photographer you should check out Footprint Fotos.

After the meeting was over we got into the car and were trying to find something to do with the rest of our day. I mentioned to him that I have been making a list of songs to play at the wedding. He mentioned a song by Cee-lo Green that we should dance to. I looked at him in shock because he knows our first dance will be Prince! I had heard the Cee-lo song a million times but I never really listened to the words. Once we got through the first verse I was crying. It was so damn perfect. Okay Prince maybe you can take a back seat. He’s not getting to make many decisions so I will gladly grant him this wish. What song is it? Well I don’t want to ruin it for my guest.

Leave a Reply

