Sister in Law

We announced we were getting married on Thanksgiving last year and all eyes were on us. His brother and his brother’s fiancee were out of town for the holiday. They sent text messages of congratulations. About two months later we get the word that his brother  and his brother’s fiancee decided to get married too. I don’t know all the details but I think they have been engaged for about 10 years. Well that is what B always says. It’s been at least four years that I know of.  I wanted to be happy for them  but my selfish side came out and I was mad they couldn’t let the spotlight just be on us. Why were they doing this to me? Why now?

So the day after we put our deposit down on our reception site, we get a call that they want to get married 7 days after we do. Well there goes the honeymoon! To be fair they didn’t know our date yet but sheesh. Again, I really wanted to be happy for them but  this was turning me into the dreaded Bridezilla. They are having a much smaller affair but that really isn’t the point. Why now?

So this weekend we went down to visit the family. I was trying to figure out how to bring up the conversation about how I felt. So I just asked what date they settled on and it will be two weeks after ours. Not great but at least a little better. I just couldn’t bring myself to bitch about them getting married so close to us. I figured maybe I would bring it up later.

The next day I get a call from his brother’s fiancee asking me to go dress shopping with her. Now how funny is this given I didn’t even want to shop for my own dress. Now I am helping someone else that I barely know.  We picked up her friend and got on the road.  On the 45 minute drive there she asked me a lot of questions. She was happy to know that she wasn’t the only one going to marry a “Hughes Man.” Hughes Men are very special and unique and we love them dearly. She sheepishly said. “I’m glad I’m not alone anymore. I thought it was just me.”  Yeah she can’t hyphenate either.

At that point I realized that I just needed to really get over it. In my ideal world they would be getting married in 2012. They are getting married in 2011 Aisha, get over it.

We arrived at the dress shop and I went in first. Since I just did this a week ago I knew exactly what we needed to do. I told the lady we didn’t have an appointment but we wanted to try on dresses.  We picked out some dresses for her in the style that she liked. I hate lace but she wanted lace so we found her the best lace dresses we could. I went so far as to help her get in and out of her dresses. After we found her dress for a great price and then we went to the mall to walk around.

As we were walking in the mall her friend gets a call from her husband. She says “I am in the mall with Suzy* and her sister in law.”  We both stopped and looked at each other realizing at that moment that we would indeed be ” sister in-law.” It was quite surreal.  After that I stopped thinking about me and started thinking about the new family I would join.

Leave a Reply

